MySQL socket error?

infidel

I keep getting this error when using the phpVMS installer. I am very new at this stuff and think I must have missed something in my set up

Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2)

any ideas??

first i suggest changing the subject of the post.. it's quite frustrating to see help written without anything else.

IMHO :)

Simon

Update-

I uninstalled and re-installed everything phpVMS related and followed the directions in this file: http://docs.phpvms.net/installation

Still getting the "Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2)" error when using the installer.

What am I doing wrong? Getting frustrated with the whole thing - just spent 4 days waiting for and getting no support for a similar program that I spent money for and am hoping the phpVMS will be the solution so I can get our site up and running.

• Administrators

Hey,

Welcome to the site... hopefully you'll have better luck.

About that error, who's your host? I would contact them, that's usually a misconfiguration on their end, which they need to fix, or you have to specify a certain host to connect to (that's not "localhost"), but I would start with contacting them first.

Are you on bluehost, by any chance? Someone else also had this error, after a bluehost did an upgrade

Hey,

Welcome to the site... hopefully you'll have better luck.

About that error, who's your host? I would contact them, that's usually a misconfiguration on their end, which they need to fix, or you have to specify a certain host to connect to (that's not "localhost"), but I would start with contacting them first.

Are you on bluehost, by any chance? Someone else also had this error, after a bluehost did an upgrade

On DirectNIC

• Administrators