My tpl file keeps saying header & footer not present

ahughes3

Hi all,

I am just starting out in skinning. I downloaded a template and followed the tutorial but when I go to preview it I get this message:

Notice: The template file "/home5/spiritc1/public_html/virginatlanticvirtualco//lib/skins/exmachina/header.php" doesn't exist in /home5/spiritc1/public_html/virginatlanticvirtualco/core/classes/TemplateSet.class.php on line 231

and another one at the bottom of the page talking about the footer.

I have tried various filepaths to see if I'm doing something wrong but nothing changes, no matter what I do. I did notice that the crystal file is called layout.php and so I tried renaming the file to that and the error disappeared but there is no styling happening, just text.

I have tried this with two different templates and both times the same. Can anyone help shed any light as I've run out of ideas? The link to the site is www.virginatlanticvirtual.co.uk

Thanks

Andy - VIR001

CEO

Virgin Atlantic Virtual - VIR

www.virginatlanticvirtual.co.uk

• Members

I would like to remind you that there are 2 ways to create a skin

1 is with header /footer

2 with layout.tpl or in your case .php

In the 1option all the code above the tag <body> goes in the header.tpl or php and the footer is what ever you want to display below the main module display and the module customization is happening in each respective tpl or php file

In 2 everything goes in 1 file that is called layout.tpl or php

Ok so I just copied over all the header code from the Crystal layout and altered the filepaths and it now shows my CSS. Anyone know how to set the filepaths for js? I have tried just copying the

<?php echo SITE_URL?>/lib/skins/exmachina/css/style-desktop.css"

and then editing the filepath but it doesn't seem to work. All the font css disappears.