Changing the frontpage

aarbee

Hello,

I have been fiddling around with phpvms for quite some time, for my new va.

It is a nice tool. And I have created my own template.

In which I succeeded.

I would like to change the frontpage.

In a way where the news is replaced by a static page. And that I have a link to the news module.

Anybody an idea, how to do that?

I have been working my way through the documentations, but I could not find how to do it.

My php knowledge is nearly zero. But I have some knowledge

Here is a link to my site: http://www.citylink-va.com

Greetings,

RobB

Thank for the tip caalair.

I will look at simpilots.

Regarding your thing about the missing </div> this: On every browser (Firefox 12, IE 9 and Chrome), I have the footer completely to the bottom-right of the page.

However, there are 2 occasions, where it is in the middle of the page. And I only see it, when I am logged in.

do you see it on everypage?

Greetings,

RobB

Added later:

How can I make a startpage or homepage my beginning page?

I am slowly thinking that the layout of this site is my downfall on this moment. But I have more templates on my sleeve...

RobB

Edited by aarbee

I know. ;-)

But I used to try out things, or fiddle around until...

Meanwhile i fiddled out, that I need echo $page_content;

Else the whole concept is not working at all.

So there must be something in the frontpage_main.tpl.

I found this row:

MainController::Run('News', 'ShowNewsFront', 5);

This prints the news on the frontpange.

And I thought I change it in:

MainController::Run('Pages', 'About');

But now I am getting an empty page.

And I could type a text below the ?> and that is showing.

I use that for the time being.

By the way RogerB, I looked at your VA. Nicely done. What you do is what I have in mind for my VA. But then for Europe.

I have added the pop-news.

It works. But I am not sure if I am happy with the positions with it.